Squad numbers released for new season

Squad numbers released for new season

The squad numbers for next seasons campaign have been released. The most significant changes are that the 1st choice strikers have jumped up the pecking order and also that Rob Clare has been handed the number 5 jersey, as previously worn by club skipper Mike Flynn.

Lee Jones has been awarded the number 1 goalkeepers jersey and 2nd choice keeper James Spencer gets the number 13 jersey, which was previously worn by Andy Dibble who also left the club at the end of last season.

Dave Challinor retains the number 4 shirt whereas Rob Clare is handed the number 5 shirt after previously wearing the number 32 shirt. New signing Jim Goodwin has been awarded the number 12 shirt and fellow new signing Martin Pemberton has been given the number 11 shirt.

County’s first choice strikers Aaron Wilbraham (No. 8) and Luke Beckett (No. 9) have also been awarded new squad numbers for the new season, and Rickie Lambert has been given the number 10 shirt following his move from Macclesfield in April.

Midfielder Ali Gibb has swapped his old number 12 shirt for number 26, which is probably due to the fact that he has put in a transfer request and is unlikely to be at the club at the start of the season. Colin Woodthorpe hasn’t been awarded a squad number for the new season after he was informed at the end of last season that he was being released by the Hatters. Colin is yet to come to an arrangement with the club to pay up the remaining year of his contract.

The full squad list is as follows:

1) Lee Jones
2) Keith Briggs
3) Peter Clark
4) Dave Challinor
5) Robert Clare
6) Carlton Palmer
7) Aaron Lescott
8) Aaron Wilbraham
9) Luke Beckett
10) Rickie Lambert
11) Martin Pemberton
12) Jim Goodwin
13) James Spencer
14) Fraser McLachlan
15) Kevin Ellison
16) Jonathan Daly
17) Karim Fradin
18) John Hardiker
19) Andrew Welsh
20) Mark Byrne
21) Andrew Thomas
22) Peter Wild
23) Chris Williams
24) Anthony Kielthy
25) Glynn Hancock
26) Ali Gibb
27) Jonathan Scragg
28) Michael Ogden
29) Gareth Walsh
30) Haydn Eames
31) Ryan Elderton

Author: Andrew
Published: 11th June 2002
Category: News

Next game

Torquay United Torquay United Vs. Stockport County Stockport County
Saturday 3rd October 2020 @ 15:00
Vanarama National League

Last game

Maidenhead United Maidenhead United 1 - 2 Stockport County Stockport County
Saturday 14th March 2020
York Road
Vanarama National League

Last win

Maidenhead United W 2 - 1

Last draw

Barnet D 1 - 1

Last draw

Dover Athletic L 0 - 2

Players making their final Stockport County appearance on this day:

F Berry (view profile), Tony Ellis (view profile), Harry Haslam (view profile), Lincoln Hyde (view profile), George McGowan (view profile), Paul Smith (view profile)